The article Social Networking in Higher Education by Nicole A. Buzzeto-More is an interesting overview of how social networking has exploded in our recent history.  It emphasizes ways that we, as educators, can use that information in positive ways in our classrooms.  When I think of using of social networking in my classroom, I feel intimidated and overwhelmed.  I did not have exposure to a lot of technology being used in the classroom during my experience in higher education.  It was not a part of my undergraduate or graduate program.  My first experience with Facebook has been during this class.  I was intrigued by the information in the article because I know this is how my students are interacting now and would benefit from more technology being incorporated into their education. 

I'm not familiar with Blackboard, but the article made me want to do some research on this tool as well as others.  As stated in the article, "Blackboard is an instructor designed and managed system representing a fairly controlled environment that lends a certain formality to all behaviors occurring within the system" (p. 70). I feel this might be a manageable tool for me to consider as a way to communicate information to my students. 

Buzzeto-More states "the idea that "membership in positive social networks can help teach learners trust, tolerance, acceptance, and collaboration" (p. 66).  This caught my attention.  The idea of building student's self confidence and helping them to feel empowered is a crucial part of what I focus on in physical education.  I hadn't thought of the contribution social networking plays in developing these strengths.

As an educator, I am always trying to find new ways to reach my student and I agree that technology is an effective way to do this.  I believe, however, there needs to be a balance between using technology in the classroom and teaching through direct interactions.  I fear that our students will become more and more detached from the "real world" as they interact more through technology.  I believe we can find an effective combination that supports providing information through technology as well as fosters personal relationships.

Buzzetto-More, N. A. (2012). Social Networking in Undergraduate Education. Interdisciplinary Journal of Information, Knowledge, and Management7




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I've been a physical education teacher in Minnesota for 12 years. I've been a coach for 10 years and a personal trainer for 6 years. My passion is inspiring others to fall in love with fitness the way I have throughout my life.

    Archives

    February 2013
    January 2013

    Categories

    All