Picture
I've been using Pandora during my classes for a while, but I've only used in on my phone.  I plug my phone in to the stereo in the gym or weight room and play my student's favorite music (usually One Direction, unfortunately!) Their energy level doubles instantly.  I've haven't used it on my computer before, but now I'm jammin' to Journey while I"m doing my assignments and it's great!  I'm a firm believer in using music to improve anyone's mood and create a great, positive learning environment. Who doesn't love music?? 

Darin
1/26/2013 01:32:24 am

I agree with your thoughts on music helping to create a positive learning environment. Couldn't imagine class without it! I have music playing in my gym every day, every period. The students like the fact that I allow them to contribute to the musical playlists by creating CD's or bringing in their iPods with a specific PE playlist. They know that we'll listen to anything at least once as long as it is edited. After a while I do take back the 'classroom DJ' duties and put in music with a more positive message - I've downloaded quite a bit of christian rap and rock and play that. A lot of kids would balk at anything 'christian' but most of the time they can't even tell - the beat is just bumpin' and they are working out and playing hard. But the messages coming through are sure a lot healthier than some of what you hear on the local radio stations.
While I do music every day (a lot of times it's just local radio) I don't know why I never thought of using Pandora... good call. I am going to check that out this week. Keep up the good work!

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I've been a physical education teacher in Minnesota for 12 years. I've been a coach for 10 years and a personal trainer for 6 years. My passion is inspiring others to fall in love with fitness the way I have throughout my life.

    Archives

    February 2013
    January 2013

    Categories

    All