Picture
I found the article "Generation Always-On" to be very interesting.  I struggle on a daily basis with the idea that my students have such a diffent environment than I did when I was in school.  I go back and forth between seeing the positive and negaitves in the amount of technology they are exposed to.  As a physical educator and personal trainer I see mostly the negative.  I cringe at the thought of how much time kids spend sitting on thier butts, looking at a screen.

It's become more challenging to motivate students over the years because I feel like I'm constantly competing with technology.  I have a difficult time getting students, athletes, and/or clients to achieve and appreciate the gratification that a killer workout can give a person.  I want for them to feel what physically hard work can do for their self confidence, and how it carries over into the rest of their lives. 

The combination of the decreasing amount of physical education students receive and the constant stream of information they are receiving from tv, video games, and social media, creates a constant up-hill battle to instill the value of exercise.  I believe students benefit greatly from the amount of information that is available to them today, however I also want students to see the value in un-plugging from their virtual world and learn how to live in the real world.

Generation Always-On
http://www.elon.edu/e-net/Note.aspx?id=958393




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I've been a physical education teacher in Minnesota for 12 years. I've been a coach for 10 years and a personal trainer for 6 years. My passion is inspiring others to fall in love with fitness the way I have throughout my life.

    Archives

    February 2013
    January 2013

    Categories

    All